Morning Poem

My fellow blogger Quaint walks out in the early AM and sees fog on the meadow and deer at the wood’s edge.

Here in the city, my bedroom window faces east, and if I’m not asleep, like I wasn’t this morning, I see the layers of blue and gold sky that come first and soon my room fills with sunlight.

Then the little patch of East River I see starts to dance its own greeting to the day … and all that lyrical stuff. This AM, this poem came to me: [If anyone knows how I can space the lines differently, please let me know.]

Photo by Pixabay on Pexels.com

It’s tempting

to say:

I saw the sun rise

this morning 

when what happened

was the patch 

of Earth that’s mine

rotated counter-

clockwise

out of darkness 

and once again

I didn’t fall off.

Photo by Samuel Silitonga on Pexels.com

Good morning to you, wherever your patch is!

3 thoughts on “Morning Poem

  1. I love your poem – and the playful ending that you didn’t fall off the earth. I’m going to share a link to it on my post for today! Hugs to you, Ellen – your poems are such a joy to read!

    Like

  2. I’m goofy with gratitude! I wonder if anyone will actually go there …

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close